Anglo-Nepalese War

The Anglo-Nepalese War (1814-1816) was fought between the Kingdom of Nepal and the British East India Company. The war ended with the Treaty of Sugauli, under which Nepal ceded several territories to the British, including parts of the Terai plains and the hill regions of the Mahakali River.


The war was triggered by the expansionist policies of the Nepalese King Prithvi Narayan Shah, who had conquered much of the Himalayan region and sought to expand his kingdom further south towards the Ganges Plains. The British, who had already established their authority in much of India, felt threatened by Nepal's ambitions.


The British launched a series of offensives against Nepal, but the Nepalese soldiers, known as Gurkhas, put up a fierce resistance. The war was marked by some notable battles, including the Siege of Bharatpur, the Battle of Kalunga, and the Battle of Jaithak.


In the end, the British emerged victorious, and Nepal was forced to sign the Treaty of Sugauli, which marked the beginning of British influence in the region. The war also paved the way for the recruitment of Gurkha soldiers into the British Army, where they continue to serve to this day.

Enjoyed this article? Stay informed by joining our newsletter!


You must be logged in to post a comment.

About Author